On Tuesday, Formula One Organizers announced an updated calendar for the Formula One 2021 Season, in which a record 23 races have been retained. Unfortunately, the 2021 season will now start a week later with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28, as the Australian Grand Prix moves to later in the year. 

Australia has been allotted a new date i.e. 21st November for the race in Melbourne. This time China was not listed on the revised calendar but Formula One sources said that it would be listed if the conditions allow or another race drop off. It is strictly cleared that the race calendar will not stretch more than 23 races. “It has been a busy start to the year at Formula 1 and we are pleased to confirm that the number of races planned for the season remains unchanged,” said Stefano Domenicali, president, and CEO of Formula 1.

Due to the travel restrictions imposed in place, the 2021 Chinese Grand Prix will not be able to take place on its planned date. Imola returns to the F1 calendar in the calendar list slot.

“Discussions with the promoter and authorities in China are ongoing, with the potential to reschedule the race later in the season if possible,” said F1 in an official release. 

After Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28, Imola will hold the next race on April 18 while the last race of the season will go ahead in Abu Dhabi on December 12. “We are very excited to announce that Imola will return for the 2021 season and know our fans will be looking forward to the return of Formula 1 after the winter break and our revised season opener in Bahrain. Obviously, the virus situation remains fluid, but we have the experience from last season with all our partners and promoters to adapt accordingly and safely in 2021” said Stefano Domenicali, President, and CEO of Formula 1.

In 2020, F1 became the first truly international sport that restarted with the game during the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. Although the experience gained and safety measures established last year, the ongoing situation regarding Covid-19 has meant it is not feasible to begin the season in Melbourne. Australia will hold the third last race of the 2021 season on November 21.

“The global pandemic has not yet allowed life to return to normal, but we showed in 2020 that we can race safely as the first international sport to return and we have the experience and plans in place to deliver on our season, said F1 in an official release.

F1 Race Calendar Update 2021 

Formula 1 has revealed a revised calendar for the 2021 season. The list is as follows:

  1. 28 March – Bahrain (Sakhir)
  2. 18 April – Italy (Imola*)
  3. 2 May – TBC
  4. 9 May – Spain (Barcelona)
  5. 23 May – Monaco (Monaco)
  6. 6 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)
  7. 13 June – Canada (Montreal)
  8. 27 June – France (Le Castellet)
  9. 4 July – Austria (Spielberg)
  10. 18 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
  11. 1 August – Hungary (Budapest)
  12. 29 August – Belgium (Spa)
  13. 5 September – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
  14. 12 September – Italy (Monza)
  15. 26 September – Russia (Sochi)
  16. 3 October – Singapore (Singapore)
  17. 10 October – Japan (Suzuka)
  18. 24 October – USA (Austin)
  19. 31 October – Mexico (Mexico City)
  20. 7 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
  21. 21 November – Australia (Melbourne*)
  22. 5 December – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah**)
  23. 12 December – Abu Dhabi (Yas Island)

Amendments to the calendar are subject to World Motor Sport Council approval.