The most used Social Media Platform, Facebook has recently announced a new privacy feature for its users in India. With this new feature, Facebook users in the country will now be able to lock their profiles. When you will enable this feature you will generate complete restrictions for the Facebook user who is trying to look into your profile. This feature will keep the non-friends away from your profile details.

Once a user locks his profile, non-friends or the people who are not on the friends’ list will not be able to share or download his/her profile picture and cover photo. They will not be able to zoom into these photos or other such private details. No unknown person will be able to see photos as well as posts shared by a user on Facebook time. This includes both new and old photos and posts. So, now onwards you don’t have to worry as unknowns will not bother you anymore.

r

How to use the ‘Lock your Profile Feature ‘?

#Step 1: First you have to visit your profile page and tap on ‘More’ that appears under your name.
#Step 2: Search for the lock profile tab and then click on it.
#Step 3: After clicking you will get a confirmation notification. Click on lock your profile to activate the lock feature.


Benefits of “Facebook Profile Lock”

The feature is basically created for women’s privacy.
The Facebook lock feature allows Indian users to lock their profiles from non-friends or those who are strangers to them.
The best thing is when you lock your Facebook profile, the strangers will not be able to check your profile information, zoom into, share, or download your full-size profile picture and cover photo.

In case the Facebook users forget that they have locked their profile, Facebook has added a reminder or an indicator on the profile page that will keep reminding the users that their profile is locked. You can always choose to remove the profile lock and apply a bunch of other privacy and security settings to your account. If the users wish to change the profile lock they can do so by clicking on the indicator on their profile page. The company especially states that it is generally made for the women to keep their accounts locked and secured. And those who want more control over their Facebook experience. This feature ensures that your posts are not updated publicly but only to your Facebook friends.

According to Ranjana Kumari, Director, Centre for Social Research, she stated that this amazing Lock Facebook Profile feature will let the young girls express themselves freely.

lock-profile

Apart from this outstanding privacy lock feature, Facebook has also come up with its Zoom rival Messenger Rooms feature for all global users. Earlier in April, Facebook had also announced the video conferencing tool for those who wanted to connect via video calls. The platform supports up to 50 participants in a video call without any time limit. To join a Messenger Rooms video calls, it is not compulsory to have a Facebook account. However, creators of the chat room on Messenger Rooms must have a Facebook account to share links to invite anyone to join.