What to Know About Big Bash League 2022-23 – New Rules, Squads, and Players


The tournament when began was called KFC Twenty 20 Big Bash because its main sponsor was Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC). However, it was later referred to as Big Bash League in most cricket circles. It changed to city-based franchises and the format remains the same.

A total of 8 teams will battle once again in the 12th season of Australia’s Big Bash League. Just like Indian Premier League (IPL), Big Bash attracts players and cricket fanatics from all over the world, which makes the tournament more exciting. It has given space to some outstanding talent such as D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Ben Mcdermott, Alex Carey, Ben Laughlin, Daniel Sams, and many more.

If you’re interested in BBL betting, let’s look at BBL 2022-23 season from a betting perspective and the list of squads and players.

Big Bash League 2022-23 – New Rules

Back then, Cricket Australia introduced three new rules – Power Surge, X-Factor, and Bash Boost. X-Factor (substitute player) and Bash Boost (bonus point) have been eradicated from this season. So, let’s see what Power Surge means and other new rules.

What is Power Surge?

It divides traditional six-over powerplay into two blocks. 4+2 means the first four will be taken at the start of the inning and the final two need to be taken at any stage after the 10th over has been bowled.

Introduction of DRS

DRS will be introduced for BBL 2022-23 matches, and it will eliminate umpiring howlers. Honestly, it was a long journey and Cricket Australia is catching up to the standard of top leagues around the world.

Slow Over Rate Penalty

A continual BBL inning should last for 79 minutes. If the team hasn’t completed its quote of overs in that particular time, it needs to field within the additional fielder inside the 30-yard circle. This is another fascinating way that will pace the game along.

Squads and Players List for Big Bash League 2022-23

Brisbane Heat

Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Sam Billings, Max Bryant, Sam Heazlett, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Colin Munro, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Ross Whiteley, Jack Wildermuth, Spencer Johnson, Will Prestwidge.

Hobart Hurricanes

Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Caleb Jewell, Shadab Khan, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Billy Stanlake, Paddy Dooley, Chris Tremain, Mac Wright, Zak Crawley (overseas replacement for Shadab Khan).

Adelaide Strikers

Wes Agar, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Harry Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Ryan Gibson, Travis Head, Adam Hose, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Rashid Khan, Chris Lynn, Harry Nielsen, Matt Short, Jake Weatherald, Henry Thorton.

Melbourne Renegades

Zak Evans, Aaron Finch, Akeal Hosein, Liam Livingstone (withdrawn), Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Mackenzie Harvey, Nic Maddinson (c), Shaun Marsh, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Will Sutherland, Jon Wells, Jack Prestwidge, Ruwantha Kellapotha, Marcus Harris, Andre Russell (replacing Liam Livingstone, first four matches only).

Melbourne Stars

Trent Boult, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Joe Clarke, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell (c), Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Luke Wood, Adam Zampa.

Perth Scorchers

Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Laurie Evans (contract terminated), Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Phil Salt, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye.

Sydney Sixers

Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Izharulhaq Naveed, Chris Jordan, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, James Vince.

Sydney Thunder

Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, David Willey, Ben Cutting.

As Big Bash League 2022-23 has already started on December 13, it’s time to look for the BBL schedule, fixtures, matches, teams, and players to place successful bets. There is plenty of markets available for Big Bash betting online, so look for a reliable betting site to settle future bets and win crazy cash prizes.

Kate Johnson is a content writer, who has worked for various websites and has a keen interest in Online Signals Report and Stock portfolio generator. She is also a college graduate who has a B.A in Journalism. Read More: Fin Scientists >> Read More: Stocks Signals Mobile App >> Read More: Crypto Signals >> Read More: Crypto Trade Signals App >> Read More: Trade Signal Buy and Sell

Share post:


More like this

How to Cut Wire Netting using Snips

Cutting wire mesh is a common requirement, and several...

Global Storefront Design and Installation Services Industry Report: Analysis and Forecast 2022-2027

Global Storefront Design and Installation Services Industry Report: Analysis...

Understanding the Forex Technical Analysis as a beginners 

You may have considered many strategies as a forex...

Top 5 Best Hostels In Anjuna Beach North Goa

Budget trips in North Goa are very trendy these...